Scholars celebrated at special assembly

Scholars celebrated at special assembly

27 June 2023

The 2022 Academic Scholarship awardees were acknowledged at a special assembly and lunch this week. Collegians returned to St Paul’s Collegiate School during the university semester break to celebrate with staff and students their academic success.

Joanna Li (2020 – 2022) spoke to the current students about how pushing herself to be a part of the Scholarship Examinations kept her engaged and driven. She likened the experience to playing a game, “Anyone can play the game, it costs nothing if you don’t pass and there are always winners. You must get in the game and stay in the game.” Joanna is currently at Auckland University and will depart for Cambridge University later this year.

Mr Jeremy Coley, Deputy Headmaster – Curriculum and Assessment, spoke at the assembly. He says, “Today, as a school we recognise these scholars. No matter how many scholarships one receives, no matter how well our teachers, teach and lead by example, no matter how much support you receive from your families and friends, it is you who achieved. You are the ones who stayed awake late at night studying and writing past papers. You are the ones who balanced personal, and co-curricular obligations with your determination to excel in your chosen areas of study. You are the ones who used a tremendous sense of inquiry to make discoveries, to experiment, and to create on the back of three disrupted years of learning.”

On average, just 3% of students sitting Level 3 NCEA also receive Scholarship in that subject. Even fewer achieve Outstanding; for example, in 2022 just ten students out of 4,001 received Outstanding in Geography. The collective result for Scholarships at St Paul’s in 2022 was 43 including six Outstanding and one top-in-the-country award for Geography.

Students who achieve Scholarship receive financial recognition from the Ministry of Education and an additional $500 from St Paul’s or $750 for an Outstanding Scholarship.

Photo: Front row: Dylan Fletcher, Max Robinson, William Bodle, Scott Zhou, Lily Crowley, Joanna Li, Emily Jin, Anna Egan, Sarah O’Callaghan Back row: Trelise Forster, Dianne Bailey, Trixie Hulme, Nicole Chen, Keyan Asadi, Jack Simmonds, Lawsen Harte, Matthew Chanwai

Absent: Taiki Lin and Phoebe Macemon