Agribusiness students win Fieldays ‘Young Inventor of the Year’

Agribusiness students win Fieldays ‘Young Inventor of the Year’

16 June 2017

A team of Year 13 Agribusiness students have been awarded the ‘Young Inventor of the Year’ prize at Fieldays 2017.

George Dyer, Robert Morbey, James Mitchell and William Eyre developed ‘De-Fence’, a simple but effective tool for removing old gate-latch staples from posts. It saves farmers valuable time, money and physical stress with the ease of removing the staple.

The group of young innovators developed the product in one of their Agribusiness classes at St Paul’s and have been exhibiting it in the Innovation Centre at Fieldays this week.

Two other groups were are also entered into the Fieldays Innovation Awards. Jack Alexander, Quinn Bowie, Jeevan Singh and Mitchell Bailey designed ‘Ride Safe’ a quad bike helmet that does not allow the vehicle to start without the helmet being secured, and Jock Yarndley, Silvana Ground, Luke Donaldson, Sean Dykes and Sophie Carr Paterson developed ‘Flash Inc.’, an LED strobe light fitted under a tractor bonnet to deter birds from nesting in the engine.

The prize for the Young Inventor award is $1000 cash. For more information about the Fieldays Innovation Awards visit the Fieldays website.