Top sporting and cultural students recognised

Top sporting and cultural students recognised

2 November 2020

In recognition of the best sporting and cultural talent from this year, students and staff attended the St Paul’s Sports and Cultural Awards dinner last week.

The biggest honours of the night went to Ben Littlejohn, Sam Lints and Laura Littlejohn.

Ben received the Cole Cup Supreme Awards for excellence in an individual’s chosen sport. Best known as a swimmer, Ben showcased his skills at the New Zealand Open Short Course Champs, winning the Open 50m butterfly to win his first NZ Open title. He also received silver in the Open 100 butterfly and two bronzes in the Open 100 and 200 freestyle achieving a NZ senior development time to qualify for the NZ senior swimming squad. He won four 17-18-year-old age group national titles and one silver medal as well as setting the Waikato age group record in the 50 butterfly and 200 freestyle.

The Peter Gilbert Trophy for all-round sportsman of the year went to Sam Lints. He has represented his province in both hockey and cricket. Sam was selected for the Waikato U18 hockey team this year and has scored goals this season at key moments during the games. Sam is also an extremely talented cricketer and he has represented Northland Secondary School’s playing within the Northern Districts competition. He also played for Northern Districts men’s development and is a member of the Northern Districts Performance pathway programme.

Laura Littlejohn was awarded the Margaret Forsyth Cup for sportswoman of the year. At the New Zealand Short Course National Swimming Championships Laura claimed her first NZ Open titles with wins in the 200m butterfly and 100m individual medley. She also gained four NZ Open silver medals. At the recent New Zealand Secondary School swimming event, Laura won eight titles in the 16-year-old age group and one other silver medal. In four months, she broken the 16-year-old New Zealand 100m freestyle age group record recording four times with a record of 53.92 seconds. She is now .35 seconds outside the Open 100m freestyle record. In 2020 she has broken NZ age group records in three events, set two Waikato open records and achieved three NZ development qualifying times to qualify for the NZ senior swimming squad.

Nominees for awards are put forward by the teachers/coaches and the winners are decided by the sports committee, made up of senior management.

Well done to all our 2020 awards winners.

2020 Sports and Cultural Awards Winners:

Gummer Gavel (for excellence in debating): Frazer Tam
Janet Cole Cup (for excellence in performing arts): Dion Xue
Rodney Hamel Cup (for greatest contribution to culture): Gustav Jooste and Thomas Dela Rue
Parr Trophy (for excellence in orchestral music): Lucas Goodwin
Cowan Plate (for lead choristers): Kitty Storey and Thomas Dela Rue
Davies Family Cup (for best distance runner of the year): Belinda Wright
Wayne O’Brien Trophy (for the sportsperson who has reached the highest level and assisted others to reach their potential): Jai Fitzwalter
Te Tapuwae Award (for the top Maaori sportsperson): Kuwyn Price
Director of Sport Cup (for team of the year): St Paul’s swimming team
Margaret Forsyth Cup (for sportswoman of the year): Laura Littlejohn
Peter Gilbert Cup for all-round sportsman of the year: Sam Lints
Cole Cup Supreme Award (for excellence in an individual’s chosen sport): Ben Littlejohn