Sevens named open boys’ champions

Sevens named open boys’ champions

7 March 2017

It was a replay of the 2016 Sir Gordon Tietjens Sevens final for St Paul’s Collegiate School this past weekend.

The team faced Tauranga Boys College in the final for the second year in a row; this time reversing their fate to take out a 24-19 win and championship title.

The game started off with Tauranga quick to score the first try but St Paul’s soon showed their dominance, starving the Bay of Plenty team of the ball.

St Paul’s players Liam Allen, Fergus Burke and Jock Yarndley all scored tries bringing the match to 19-7.

Tauranga managed to close the gap slightly before St Paul’s Valynce Crosby-Te Whare sealed the game’s fate by charging 40-metres to land St Paul’s winning try.

Following the game, Valynce, Fergus and Luke Donaldson were selected for the tournament team based on their outstanding performances.