St Paul’s Collegiate top Waikato Valley club cricket with Mike Cotter Cup underway

St Paul’s Collegiate top Waikato Valley club cricket with Mike Cotter Cup underway

28 November 2016

St Paul’s Collegiate top the Waikato Valley Premier club cricket standings after breezing to a seven-wicket victory over Te Awamutu Sports in the first round of this year’s Mike Cotter Cup on Saturday.

Tom Yarrall took 5-17 from eight overs as St Paul’s knocked Te Awamutu over for a meagre 91 in 24 overs, which leaves them bottom of the ladder with no points.

St Paul’s chased down the winning target after 20 overs, finishing 95-3 with opener Edward Sclater (32no) still at the crease.

The Mike Cotter Cup – the one-day competition – sees teams begin with points accrued from the two matches they played in the combined Hamilton/Valley competition, so St Paul’s lead on 17 points having won two of three games played – one was abandoned.

Otorohanga, who won the competition last year, secured a 26-run victory over Morrinsville-Piako.

Opener Leighton Parsons scored 92 off 122 balls as Otorohanga posted 228-9 in their 50 overs, with Morrinsville-Piako’s Maurice Barrow performing superbly with the ball, finishing with figures of 5-15 from 10 overs.

But in reply, Morrinsville-Piako fell short as they were bowled out for 202 with two overs to spare.

Otorohanga are third in the standings on 13 points, with Morrinsville-Piako fifth on six points.

Hinuera won their first match of this season with a comfortable 130-run victory over Cambridge.

John Dickson starred with bat and ball, scoring 69 from 76 balls at No 3, as Hinuera reached 249-9 from their 50 overs.

Dickson then dismantled Cambridge’s middle order, before sealing victory with his fifth wicket of the day to finish with figures of 5-21 from 9.5 overs, as Cambridge were skittled for 119 after 32.5 overs.

Hinuera are fourth in the standings on 10 points, with Cambridge second, three points shy of St Paul’s.

There will be another three rounds of competition in the Mike Cotter Cup, before a final on December 17.

Six points are awarded for a win, three for an abandoned or tied game, none for a loss, and a bonus point is awarded for achieving a run rate 1.25 times better than an opponent.


Mike Cotter Cup round one results:

Hinuera 249-9 (J Dickson 69) beat Cambridge 119 (J Dickson 5-21) by 130 runs

Otorohanga 228-9 (L Parsons 92; M Barrow 5-15) beat Morrinsville-Piako 202 by 26 runs

St Paul’s 95-3 beat Te Awamutu 91 (T Yarrall 5-17) by seven wickets

  • Stuff